Elegant Rydal Hall is a stunning place to explore.
Set in over 30 acres, close to Rydal Water, it is a perfect place to walk and breathe in the clear Cumbrian air.
The views are stunning with Rydal Hall boasting amazing views over the Rothay Valley.
In particular, the grounds are a perfect place to relax and enjoy this beautiful part of the world.
Undoubtedly, both visually and historically, Rydal Hall is the most stunning building in Rydal.
This magnificent house was built as the country seat of the Le Fleming baronets who can be traced back to 1126.
Originally, the Le Fleming’s lived at Coniston Hall some miles away.
In 1575 they moved to Rydal to the old Hall and built on a knoll beside the present main road.
Subsequently, in 1681, it was described as ‘now in ruins’.
The new Hall was built by Sir Michael le Fleming in the 16th century.
Further alterations were carried out over the years with the main front dating to the 19th century.
Experts consider the Hall to be architecturally fine and listed as Grade II along with terraces, bridges and outbuildings.
Since 1963, Rydal Hall is run by the Church of England Diocese of Carlisle.
The Hall offers conference facilitates and accommodation.
Furthermore, it’s a place of hospitality, tranquillity and spirituality for all.
The lovely tree-tinged fields (Rydal Park) are the scene of the famous Rydal Sheepdog Trials held in August each year.